G Minor (Gm) Scale and Chords in the Key of Gm

In this post you will find information about natural, melodic and harmonic scales of G minor and chords related to the given scales.

G Natural Minor Scale

G (natural) minor scale consists of notes  G, A, B♭, C, D, E♭, and F. It has two flat notes.

Chords In The Key of G Minor

The chords in the key of G minor are as follows.

G minor. Its notes are G – Bb – D
A diminished. Its notes are A – C – Eb
Bb major. Its notes are Bb – D – F
C minor. Its notes are C – Eb – G
D minor. Its notes are D – F – A
Eb major. Its notes are Eb – G – Bb
F major. Its notes are F – A – C

G Harmonic Minor Scale

In a harmonic minor scale, seventh note of the natural minor scale is raised by a half-step.

Natural G Minor Scale : G – A – B♭- C – D – E♭- F – G
Harmonic G Minor Scale : G – A – B♭- C – D – E♭- F# – G

G Melodic Minor Scale

In the melodic minor scale, you raise the sixth and seventh notes of the natural minor scale by a half step as you go up the scale and then return to the natural minor as you go down the scale.

G melodic minor scale ascending : G – A – B♭- C – D – E – F# – G
G melodic minor scale descending: G – A – B♭- C – D – E♭ – F – G

Leave a Reply